Home > Uncategorized > Desaturated Santa, Year 2

Desaturated Santa, Year 2

December 8, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I don’t have much new in terms of meta-ponderings on the genesis/effectiveness of the Desaturated Santa thing that I didn’t say in last year’s blog.

I did get better photos this year, though, thanks to BenZero. Last year, I was so overwhelmed by the attention that I didn’t get one good shot of me with a bunch of other Santas, and that was my one request for this year.

This year everything went more smoothly- I knew what I was doing with the paint + eyebrow/lip shading, costume was already made, &c. And it wasn’t POURING RAIN like last year, which meant a huge gathering of Santas at City Hall was possible!

I was MOBBED, all day, by requests for photos and by people freaking out over the costume. It kind of got overwhelming at some point, I knew I couldn’t try and walk through a crowd without getting grabbed every few feet. If this is what it’s like being famous, I’m really glad I can take the paint + costume off and go back to being just a girl in the world. It’s fun for a day, but that’s about all I could handle.

It’s great, though, that the costume IS so effective that it inspires such attention and truly seems to freak people’s brains out (in person AND in photos). If I have to be “known” for something, at least it’s for artistic merit and cleverness rather than for scandal or something negative. It’s also getting a lot of attention around the internets after-the-fact, too (Gizmodo, LA Times tech blog, Reddit, countless other places).

The Desaturated Santa art project is well in line with my goal to create more happiness in the world in small ways. SantaCon was an entire day of people really, really happy that I existed and that they got to see it. And that’s rad.

I’m not going to do Desaturated Santa next year. Two years in a row is enough- better to leave at the height of the party than become a fixture, an “oh, you again”.

Over & out,
Desaturated Santa aka Brody

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. Justine Szabo
    December 9, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    I don’t think you can get off that easily, my friend. What you’re doing is brilliant and someone is going to ask you to put that gray Santa costume on again and go on TV. You’ve started a cultural meme that’s not going to be easy to put back into its bottle.

    I love the photos and videos I’ve seen, and have to wonder if the translation from 3D reality to 2D image enhances the effect. (Though I know people say it’s as freaky in real life.) I like how flat and uncontrasty you look in a crowd. It’s not only like Photoshop, but bad Photoshop — which I mean as a compliment.

    I agree with the assessment that you’re tweaking a red-and-white cultural icon, and that’s why it works. As much work as you’ve put into it, doing Santa is simpler than just being a generic black-and-white woman. I wonder if it would work whenever there are dozens of similarly-dressed people. Does it only need contrast with other people or do we need to be looking for color that’s not there?

    Thanks for a wodnerful dose of mind candy.

    • Justine Szabo
      December 9, 2010 at 1:16 pm

      I admire you! Keep the world weird.

      • Brody
        December 9, 2010 at 2:02 pm

        Actually, I can be done with it that easily. Not having a TV or caring about helping people on TV sell products that I’m also not interested in, that’s a pretty easy “no” to say if it ever comes up. Which I doubt it will. Unless of course they’re interested in giving me several thousands of dollars to buy my dream car (a 1973 Super Beetle). Ha. Then I would cheerfully whore myself out to the corporate entertainment complex.

  2. December 10, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Love it. Great work! Yay atheism.

  3. Fez Monkey
    December 14, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Brody, Just wanted to say thank you. When I saw pictures from last year I just assumed the image was photoshopped. I was absolutely blown away when I joined the crimson tide this year and saw you in the desaturated flesh. Such creativity is awe inspiring.

  4. Jake
    December 20, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Brody. Desaturated Santa blew my mind when I saw you this year. Thank you. ‘=:(|)

  5. Squigs
    March 6, 2011 at 6:02 am

    Hi. Just wanted to say this was so awesome that you inspired me to shamelessly rip off your concept. Hope you don’t mind:)

    Redemption 2011 Coventry #red11

  6. Ken Shinagawa
    April 24, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Hello Brody, I’m from a Japanese TV production company in Los Angeles. I am currently working with one of our clients in Japan who is very interested in featuring your incredible “Desaturated Santa”. If it is not too much trouble for you we would like to ask a couple of questions regarding this matter. I would greatly appreciate it if you could get back to us via my email at your earliest convenience. Thank you in advance.

  1. December 9, 2010 at 4:03 pm
  2. December 10, 2010 at 8:27 am

Leave a Reply

